Arrested for driving under the influence

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence alcohol 

An arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) is very serious if it is not handled in the right way could take you to jail, apart from cost you thousands of dollars in fines, make you revoke the driving privilege, you could lose your employment and inclusive, future employment opportunities.

When it comes to an offense like speeding, facing only one with authorities might be OK because it does not involve other risks, but when it is a case of “DUI” is needed from the beginning to have the legal assistance of a competent lawyer, even if it was a first offense. An experienced attorney can help you negotiate the penalties that the offense carries and thus cause the least possible impact on your life.

  1. Removal or dismissal of the charges. The police must have reasonable cause (also known as a probable cause) before stopping a driver on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), before making an arrest. A likely to stop a driver can be the one to go driving erratically, failing to stop at a signal “stop” or driving speeding cause. If a police officer stops a driver and notice signs of intoxication such as slurred speech, bloodshot eyes and alcohol on the breath, you can submit to field sobriety tests on the spot, including the breath test.

Legally, you have the right to refuse to undergo these tests you, but the police are not obliged to orient yourself in on this right. If you take tests and are not satisfactory, then the police may have reasonable cause to make an arrest. However, they could have exceptions. Si the police told you have to take the tests, you may have legal basis for an arrest based on unlawful arrest or detention be dismissed. In addition, if you were arrested despite having passed sobriety tests, the charges may be dismissed as false arrest or malicious intent. If during the arrest, there was evidence of abuse, arbitrary detention or violation of your right to have legal representation, a lawyer could determine that there had been a false arrest.

Any alteration to the evidence, mistakes made ​​while evidence was collected or while it was examined, could also be reasons for the charges be dismissed. There are many scenarios and factors that can lead to an arrest is dismissed as “false” under the law. It is best to talk to a lawyer.

  1. Negotiate an agreement to lower the sentence. Whether it’s your first, second or third offense, a DUI arrest in California has serious consequences. Statements from 4 days or up to one year in prison and fines from $ 1.400 to $ 18.000. A DUI lawyer with experience could make you reduce or cancel the charges you and help you to be out of court as soon as possible. Some of negotiations include achieving reduced charges of “DUI” to reckless driving. What is known as “wet (wet) reckless driving”, referring to driving under the influence of alcohol it is made. By reducing the conviction to: reckless driving with the presence of alcohol (wet), it carries only fine and probation of three to five years depending on the case.
  2. Make the conviction is removed from the record. Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) could ruin your employment opportunities. In California, it is possible to get a conviction of “DUI” is eliminated, otherwise it can be a lifetime in the record of the convicted person. If you have been found guilty, you could qualify for that you remove the conviction if you have completed probation and not face any other criminal charge. If the sentence of “DUI” requires you to keep time in state prison, you cannot qualify for the conviction of your record is deleted. Once the conviction is removed, no longer it has to be reported to any employer nor appear when your criminal record is examined for some work. A lawyer for “DUI” can help speed up the process and assure you that is handled in the right way.